It appears you have not registered with our community. To register please click here ...

+-

+-PL Gallery Random Image

Author Topic: Living and Working in Colombia for non-pensionados  (Read 505 times)

Offline AndyLee

• Spouse's Country: No Selection
  • Trips: Resident
Living and Working in Colombia for non-pensionados
« on: September 08, 2015, 10:24:01 AM »
From time to time someone in US or Europe will ask me what it´s like to live here and work full time. My only experience working in Colombia is as an English teacher. Perhaps some of the other members can tell about other lines of work here, or can expand on my English teacher comments.
I am pensionado but I also work as an English teacher, sometimes as a volunteer and sometimes for pay. Because I have a Colombian pensionado visa I am not supposed to have a job, but the economy is so flexible here nobody cares whether I´m legal or not.
As a volunteer English teacher I work as little or as much as I want. Sometimes I teach one hour a week, other times four hours per week. I teach in the grade school in my barrio with students 8 to 11 years old and in my house students 12 and up.
As an English tutor some of my adult students are attending university and need help with their required English courses. Others of my adult students are preparing for a vacation trip or to work in USA or other English speaking country.
The adult students pay me a stipend that amounts to about $5 hour. A side benefit of teaching English is to meet women, but I don´t do it primarily for that, it´s just an occasional side benefit.
More formal volunteer English teaching positions are available in Colombia for six month stints. The foundation arranges the work visa, arranges a place for the volunteer teacher to live - usually a furnished room, and pays a stipend ranging from 800,000 to 1,500,000 per month.