It appears you have not registered with our community. To register please click here ...

+-

+-PL Gallery Random Image

Author Topic: Affidavit of support requirements  (Read 2052 times)

Offline jvoorhees

• Spouse's Country: No Selection
  • Trips: None (yet)
Affidavit of support requirements
« on: October 03, 2011, 08:28:49 AM »
I was doing some research into the Visa process so that I would be prepared when my relationship with my novia develops to point where I am ready to become engaged.  I came across the Affidavit of Support and had some questions.

Does anyone know what criteria they are looking for here mostly?  What are their red flags that they would deny over?  If you made a good income, would there be anything else that may cause them to deny?

I read something on VisaJourney about having a letter from an employer.  I work as a contractor and change employers every 1 to two years.  Would this be a problem?  Would it be worth taking a smaller salary at a permanent job at the same company through this process?

Thanks all for the feedback!

Offline Zon

• Trips: None (yet)
Re: Affidavit of support requirements
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2011, 09:01:27 AM »
What about providing assets to the woman to make her candidacy stronger?   The purchase of some houses can cost only 10K.  What is the threshold of examining the woman's wealth, rather than only relying on the husband as a sponsor?

Offline Researcher

• The Perfect Match!
  • Spouse's Country: Colombia
  • Trips: > 10
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2011, 10:44:12 AM »

Hey Jman, no need to change jobs or make any major changes just for this.VJ has a good guideline to follow and some great tips.Remember with this visa stuff you are putting together a "package", not just filing out an application.The Affidavit of support is only a part of the package.